Older. Smarter. And Still Fun...

Recent Posts

Books

Move Over Chick Lit: We Want Something Older!

Welcome to Henlit Central! I started this blog because I imagine there’s an entire genre that’s underrepresented in the literary world -- and it’s us, middle-aged women (looking for...
Read More
Books

Who the Heck is Allie?

Every story needs a great protagonist. Someone who’s relatable and who keeps readers invested. It...
Read More
Books

Summer Reading Picks!

Besides my “go to” books about family drama that have a “beach” read feel, I’ve...
Read More
Author Interviews

Author Interview: Camille Pagan

Meet Camille Pagán, the #1 Amazon Charts and Washington Post bestselling author of eight novels,...
Read More
Author Interviews

A Memoir by Peggi Davis

Meet Peggi Davis and learn more about her delightfully charming mix of memoirs and short...
Read More
Author Interviews

Author Interview: Hayley Walsh

Meet Hayley Walsh from Sydney, Australia and learn more about her and her light-hearted women...
Read More
Books

Five Spring 2022 Reading Picks!

In the next few months, I hope to get at these books while enjoying a...
Read More
LifeStyle

10 Things Time Has Taught Me

  I stumbled across this post by Donna Ashworth. Check out her website Donna Ashworth and...
Read More
Books

To Read or Not to Read

We’ve all heard of the cliché, Don’t Judge a Book by Its Cover, haven’t we?...
Read More
Author Interviews

Author Interview: Maggie Smith

Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published book. Hi, I’m Maggie Smith...
Read More
Author Interviews

Author Interview: Lainey Cameron

Here's what Lainey Cameron had to say about her debut novel, The Exit Strategy, releasing on...
Read More
LifeStyle

Empty Nest vs. Empty Heart: How to Stay Positive When Your Kids Move Out

BY MELISSA ROWE -- For many women, much of our lives have been consumed by parenting. Rarely...
Read More

Authors

 

We’re looking for you! If you’ve been recently published, drop us a line and tell us a little bit about your book. If we feel your book is a good fit for us older readers looking for a light-hearted read, we will feature it on Henlit Central!

Creativity, collaboration, and an urge to communicate has resulted in a unique alliance – the AUTHOR TALK NETWORK.  Nineteen authors, most of whom have never met, have created a network where readers and authors come together to discuss books and so much more.

So You Want to Write?

Our literary agents, authors, and editors will give you the feedback, accountability, and community that your book needs to succeed.
Find Your Writing Coach here

Lifestyle

Thinking positive about aging and embracing it can be challenging and exhausting even on the best of days. But cheer up. There are plenty of interesting articles and tips on how we can learn and train our minds and body to be on our sides. And maybe that’s the secret to positive aging…no matter where we are with our daily diet, routine and lifestyle!

For the Light-Hearted

Check out a few recommended sites and other good stuff to find great reads, reviews and blogs for the ‘over 40’ light-hearted book lover. 

Coming July 2022!

For fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go Bernadette or Marian Keyes’s The Break comes And Then There’s Margaret. Take a relatable and often hilarious ride with our heroine as she realizes the only way to survive the angst of family is to let go…and let be.

Next Generation Indie Book AwardsChick Lit (Fiction) – Finalist
Maxy Award  Literary & Humor Winner
BookBub  New Release for Less 06/26/22
“Over the course of this novel, Clarke offers a tale that’s often funny and sharp.”Kirkus Reviews
“Carolyn Clarke weaves the plot with skill, and her characters are all convincing, with their flaws and quirks. Moreover, the wittiness of the writing enlightened the story. Here, day-to-day life is never boring.”Reedsy Discovery
“Would recommend this book if you like family centered dramas with lots of humour.” My.Bookworm.Life – Instagram book blogger
 
Available for pre-order here!

Newsletter

Sign up to receive an occasional newsletter correspondence from Henlit Central. Subscriber information is never shared.

Proud Member

Hen lit books here:

Goodreads is the world’s largest community of book lovers. Find and read more books you’ll love, and keep track of the books you want to read.

BookBub is a free service that helps you discover books you’ll love through unbeatable deals, handpicked recommendations, and updates from your favorite authors.

Get your

Chick Lit Fix here:

Chick Lit Cafe writes professional captivating book reviews, runs powerful “targeted” book marketing campaigns to increases book sales, author awareness and online presence. We will launch you and your book into the spotlight.

Chicklit Club is the longest running chick lit website, with everything you want to know about women’s contemporary fiction from book reviews and release dates, to author interviews and movie adaptions.

Chick Lit Central is a place where people can discuss chick lit books, read reviews, meet authors, and win books!

Artisan Book Reviews provides book reviews and promotional services for authors.