A Character Review – Who Didn’t Love Blix?

BY CATHERINE MAVEN – I can’t believe I actually DOWNLOADED this book onto my Kindle – it looks like the kind of romantic claptrap that I’m ALLERGIC to. So you might be surprised to find out that right after I finished reading it, I BOUGHT the hardcover book! (And this, despite the fact that I have downsized my library until I only own about twenty books.)

The thing is, the main story is NOT why I LOVE this book! Wait. Let me back up. MfB is about a young woman (Marnie MacGraw) who gets married and then separates two weeks later, is distraught and disillusioned, and then finds out that a woman she only met once – the great aunt of her so-recently-ex husband – has left her her house in her will. There are lots of quirky, interesting characters, including a child and a dog! – and even the possibility of another love.

Not bad, an easy read, and not totally predictable. But what I LOVE about this book is the great aunt who passes away in the course of the book – Blix. Blix is an AMAZING character – a role model for how *I* want to be when I get old(er)!

Blix loves life – and has opened her house to people who need her (whether they know it or not!) She is a “matchmaker” – she sees auras around people that tell her when two people should be together. Honestly, I could do without this part. But the LOVE Blix brings to her world, her acceptance of the crazy, chaotic nature of reality, and the FAITH she has in the people around her – are inspiring. Blix is what you’d get if your Fairy Godmother grew up in New York. She’s down to earth, funny, and loving without being soppy-sentimental.

One of the things I love about Blix is she never stops loving life. Once she knows she’s dying, she decides to throw herself an Irish WAKE – a “Blix Out”. She says, “I want us all to hold each other’s hands and dance in a conga line. It’s been too long since I had a conga line.” She names her cancer “Cassandra” so she can make peace with her and not fear her. When someone expresses sympathy for her having cancer, she says, “We’re all broken … And we still have to dance.”

Starting to feel my age, I can imagine a time when my own days are growing shorter – when my autumn is turning to winter – when my own heart is winding down until it can’t be started again. I hope I can face the end with the same JOIE DE VIVRE – and the same GENEROSITY of spirit – as Blix.

I bought this book to remind me of who I want to be – every day, for the rest of my life. As she’s being helped up the stairs, as she’s dying, Blix says, “I stop when I need to, which is about a million times, because this may be my last look at this beautiful scene, at my life here that I have loved with all my heart.”

I am Blixed-out by this novel!

 
Catherine Maven is a writer, artist, teacher, mother and comedian (not necessarily in that order). In between all that, she reported for a newspaper, published poetry, and now has four books (so far!) on Amazon. 

Check out Catherine’s work on Amazon and her writing blog here!

Coming July 2022!

For fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go Bernadette or Marian Keyes’s The Break comes And Then There’s Margaret. Take a relatable and often hilarious ride with our heroine as she realizes the only way to survive the angst of family is to let go…and let be.

Next Generation Indie Book AwardsChick Lit (Fiction) – Finalist
Maxy Award  Literary & Humor Winner
BookBub  New Release for Less 06/26/22
“Over the course of this novel, Clarke offers a tale that’s often funny and sharp.”Kirkus Reviews
“Carolyn Clarke weaves the plot with skill, and her characters are all convincing, with their flaws and quirks. Moreover, the wittiness of the writing enlightened the story. Here, day-to-day life is never boring.”Reedsy Discovery
“Would recommend this book if you like family centered dramas with lots of humour.” My.Bookworm.Life – Instagram book blogger
 
Available for pre-order here!

Newsletter

Sign up to receive an occasional newsletter correspondence from Henlit Central. Subscriber information is never shared.

Proud Member

Hen lit books here:

Goodreads is the world’s largest community of book lovers. Find and read more books you’ll love, and keep track of the books you want to read.

BookBub is a free service that helps you discover books you’ll love through unbeatable deals, handpicked recommendations, and updates from your favorite authors.

Get your

Chick Lit Fix here:

Chick Lit Cafe writes professional captivating book reviews, runs powerful “targeted” book marketing campaigns to increases book sales, author awareness and online presence. We will launch you and your book into the spotlight.

Chicklit Club is the longest running chick lit website, with everything you want to know about women’s contemporary fiction from book reviews and release dates, to author interviews and movie adaptions.

Chick Lit Central is a place where people can discuss chick lit books, read reviews, meet authors, and win books!

Artisan Book Reviews provides book reviews and promotional services for authors.