Author Interview: Betsy Price

Here’s what Betsy Price had to say about her debut novel, Overgrown, released in April 2020. It’s now the #1 bestseller in the Amazon UK charts under Menopause!

Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published book.
In April 2020, one month before my fiftieth birthday, I published my debut novel ‘Overgrown’ which tells the story of Eliza Hamilton, a forty-five-year-old woman on the brink of menopause. Unable to fully process her onslaught of ailments, Eliza goes into denial as she tries, unsuccessfully, to juggle work, motherhood and demanding family members with paranoia, mood swings and hot, sleepless nights.

Tell us about the genre you like to write, and how is it similar / different from other women fiction genres?
I like to write funny, uplifting and insightful fiction about real life trials and tribulations. However, if it’s a fluffy rom-com you’re after, you might be disappointed; there are some sensitive issues covered in Overgrown that won’t be everyone’s cup of tea. As we all know, midlife can throw a minefield of unexpected situations our way, they aren’t always pretty but it shouldn’t mean they should be locked away in a dusty old cupboard. Let’s air them out and start the conversation.

What are some of the biggest challenges hen lit authors face today?
Sadly, it’s still the same old yarn of not having enough time when trying to run a family and home, especially if you have a house full during a pandemic! Time and solitude are both a luxury and a necessity when writing.

Given the ongoing popularity of chick lit, where do you see hen lit ten years from now?
Stronger than ever. Female writers are slowly but surely receiving wider recognition for their work, helped with new awards such as Helen Lederer’s Comedy Women In Print prize and other all-female writing accolades now coming into the spotlight. The rise of ebooks also makes the genre more accessible and affordable. I hope that more women can continue to write fearlessly into old age and have their voices heard.

When did it dawn on you that you wanted to be a writer?
I’d always loved writing but, like many aspiring story tellers, was missing that key component: confidence. I’d been very fortunate to travel and move around with my career, but once I’d settled down and had a solid routine with children in school, I became restless and the urge to write continued to tap at my heels. I enrolled on an evening course in creative writing at my local university. I was apprehensive at first but it was an amazing journey where I met so many different types of people with a vast range of age and experience, and I was given the tools and the confidence to make it happen. 

Do you have a day job other than being a writer?
Before becoming a full-time writer, I worked for many years in the beauty industry, which gave precious insight into our multi-layered and fascinating female psyche.

What are some things that inspire you to write?
People who are suppressing a fear or desire. Interesting and opinionated women.

What is your typical writing routine like?
Pre-pandemic: School run, walk dog, laundry etc, write from 11-3.
During pandemic: Laundry etc, write, get interrupted, write, get interrupted…

What kind of message do your book (s) convey to readers?
Fiction is so subjective so it’s difficult to say, but a common theme amongst reviewers seems to be the word ‘relatable’.

Does your book (s) incorporate certain aspects of your own life (and / or that of others)?
Although I’ve personally had an easy ride through menopause so far, the many candid conversations I’ve had either online or with friends and clients are weaved into Eliza’s character. I’m planning a follow up book in a couple of years’ time, when Eliza is in her fifties with a teenage daughter and I’m frantically logging my own experience of teenagers now before I forget!

Who are some of your favorite authors and why?
Liane Moriarty has an astonishing eye for idiosyncrasies and nuance. I love the fearlessness of Dawn O’Porter and the sharp wit of Jenny Eclair. I’ve also read two incredible debuts this year: Blood Orange, a thriller by Harriet Tyce and Don’t Think a Single Thought by Diana Cambridge.

Any advice you’d like to give for aspiring writers at this stage in life?
Believe in yourself and enjoy the process. Remember that writing is subjective, not everyone will like your work and that is absolutely fine. Find any international bestselling, Booker prize winning, critically acclaimed novel and you will always find negative reviews; don’t let it hold you back. And write from the heart, listen to what your characters have to say and put all of their grubby, annoying, embarrassing failings down on the page without worrying about judgement from others. Read Stephen King’s On Writing.

Connect with Betsy here!

Amazon linkmybook.to/Overgrown

Websitehttps://betsyprice.com/

Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/betsypricebooks

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/betsypricebooks

Instagramhttps://www.instagram.com/betsypricebooks/

Coming July 2022!

For fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go Bernadette or Marian Keyes’s The Break comes And Then There’s Margaret. Take a relatable and often hilarious ride with our heroine as she realizes the only way to survive the angst of family is to let go…and let be.

Next Generation Indie Book AwardsChick Lit (Fiction) – Finalist
Maxy Award  Literary & Humor Winner
BookBub  New Release for Less 06/26/22
“Over the course of this novel, Clarke offers a tale that’s often funny and sharp.”Kirkus Reviews
“Carolyn Clarke weaves the plot with skill, and her characters are all convincing, with their flaws and quirks. Moreover, the wittiness of the writing enlightened the story. Here, day-to-day life is never boring.”Reedsy Discovery
“Would recommend this book if you like family centered dramas with lots of humour.” My.Bookworm.Life – Instagram book blogger
 
Available for pre-order here!

Newsletter

Sign up to receive an occasional newsletter correspondence from Henlit Central. Subscriber information is never shared.

Proud Member

Hen lit books here:

Goodreads is the world’s largest community of book lovers. Find and read more books you’ll love, and keep track of the books you want to read.

BookBub is a free service that helps you discover books you’ll love through unbeatable deals, handpicked recommendations, and updates from your favorite authors.

Get your

Chick Lit Fix here:

Chick Lit Cafe writes professional captivating book reviews, runs powerful “targeted” book marketing campaigns to increases book sales, author awareness and online presence. We will launch you and your book into the spotlight.

Chicklit Club is the longest running chick lit website, with everything you want to know about women’s contemporary fiction from book reviews and release dates, to author interviews and movie adaptions.

Chick Lit Central is a place where people can discuss chick lit books, read reviews, meet authors, and win books!

Artisan Book Reviews provides book reviews and promotional services for authors.