Author Interview: Marilyn Simon Rothstein

“With her trademark wit and wisdom, Marilyn Simon Rothstein brings us her most delightful and disarming heroine yet in Lauren Leo, a jilted fortysomething bride who finds her superpower. Fun, funny, and smart, Crazy to Leave You will keep you turning the pages and aching to offer your own shoulder to cry on as Lauren turns her tale of woe into a tower of strength. If you haven’t yet experienced the sheer joy of a Marilyn Simon Rothstein novel, this is a perfect place to start.”
—Jamie Brenner, author of Blush

 

Thank you, Marilyn, for taking the time to interview with us at Henlit Central! We hope our readers enjoy getting to know you and your latest book, Crazy to Leave You.

Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published books.
Crazy to Leave You is my third book. Crazy to Leave You is the story of Lauren Leo. She is forty-one and works in advertising in New York. She wants to marry and have a family, but she is left at the altar. She goes across the street, sits in a diner, eats a copious amount of carbs, and watches her guests depart the wedding venue. Humiliated, but determined not to wallow, Lauren Leo faces a flamboyant sister who won’t leave, a judgmental mother who insists Lauren freeze her eggs, and deep self-doubt over whether she’ll ever “Say Yes” to anyone about anything ever again. Crazy to Leave You is one woman’s route to accepting herself as she is, feeling at long last worthy, and finding love—in unexpected places.

My first novel was Lift and Separate followed by Husbands and Other Sharp Objects. Both feature Marcy Hammer, a woman in her fifties who is married to Harvey the Bra King.

I grew up in Flushing, New York, and went to public schools. There was one tree in front of my house. I moved to Connecticut, and three bears just sashayed into my garage and walked off with a bag of garbage.

Tell us about the genre you like to write, and how is it similar / different from other women fiction genres?
I write about contemporary women and families. Humor is key. I am happiest when a person reads my book in bed and tells me she had to go to another room because her laughter was keeping her husband awake.

What are some of the biggest challenges hen lit authors face today?
Arthritis. Grown children who come home to live.

When did it dawn on you that you wanted to be a writer?
I’m pretty sure I knew it in the womb.

Do you have a day job other than being a writer?
I majored in journalism, began my career as a magazine writer, became a copywriter, then owed an advertising agency for over twenty-five years. I write novels full-time now.

What are some things that inspire you to write?
My love of writing inspires me. There aren’t many things I prefer to do. For insurance, I belong to a writer’s group that meets once a week. It helps me to know I have pages due.

What is your typical writing routine like?
What’s a routine? I’ll have to look that word up in the dictionary.

What kind of message do your books convey to readers?
You can wipe your eyes and choose to laugh. There is humor in almost everything. The worse day of your life can be the best thing that ever happened to you. You are enough.

Do your books incorporate certain aspects of your own life (and / or that of others)?
Yes. I write about women with families. And guess what? I am a woman with a family—two married daughters, three grandchildren. I write about marriage. I’ve been married 45 years which is amazing because I am only thirty-seven.  I write about everyday topics such as removing contact lenses before getting on a scale (not that I have any personal experience with such a thing). Also, my protagonists rarely exercise.

Who are some of your favorite authors and why?
Since I became published, my favorite authors are the community of novelists I have come to know. I meet them in New York or when I travel to speak about my books. We support each other. Some I know from social media and Zoom conferences. There is one writer who calls me her best friend forever—one day I hope to meet her.

Any advice you’d like to give for aspiring writers at this stage in life?
The only way to write a book is to write it. Join a workshop. Keep going and never give up.

You can find out more about Marilyn here:
Website
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

 

Kirkus Reviews
Kirkus Reviews
Read More
“(F)unny and sharp...An often entertaining story of a middle-aged protagonist who finds a new connection with her in-law and a new lease on life"
Reedsy Discovery
Reedsy Discovery
Read More
“Loved it! Carolyn Clarke weaves the plot with skill, and her characters are all convincing, with their flaws and quirks. Moreover, the wittiness of the writing enlightened the story."
My.Bookworm.Life
My.Bookworm.LifeInstagram Book Blogger
Read More
“Would recommend this book if you like family centered dramas with lots of humour.”
Marilyn Simon Rothstein
Marilyn Simon Rothstein- Author of Crazy to Leave You, Life & Separate
Read More
“And Then There’s Margaret is a lively, satirical debut by a talented writer who has given this novel her all."
ChickLit Cafe
ChickLit Cafe- Book Reviews
Read More
"In this hilarious, down-to-Earth read, debut author Carolyn Clarke has created charming and fascinating characters that could come from any home on any block..."
Sara Fraser
Sara Fraser- Award winning author, Just River
Read More
Filled with love, laughter, and misadventure, ATTM is deliciously readable with a cast of characters that are complex and funny.
Readers' Favorite
Readers' Favorite5 Star Review
Read More
It's a well-written story with crisp, clear dialog that engages you from the start and characters that you can't help but relate to.
The Book Commentary
The Book Commentary
Read More
While Clarke offers a fresh new literary voice, the writing in And Then There’s Margaret is confident and the prose is crisp.
Indie Reader
Indie Reader
Read More
Carolyn Clarke’s skillful and subtle storytelling in AND THEN THERE’S MARGARET is a playful coming-of (middle)-age novel.
Previous
Next
Coming July 2022!
For fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go Bernadette or Marian Keyes’s The Break comes And Then There’s Margaret. Take a relatable and often hilarious ride with our heroine as she realizes the only way to survive the angst of family is to let go…and let be.

 
Next Generation Indie Book AwardsChick Lit (Fiction) – Finalist
Maxy Award  Literary & Humor – Winner
BookBub  New Release for Less 06/26/22
Available for pre-order here!

Newsletter

Sign up to receive an occasional newsletter correspondence from Henlit Central. Subscriber information is never shared.

Proud Member

Hen lit books here:

Goodreads is the world’s largest community of book lovers. Find and read more books you’ll love, and keep track of the books you want to read.

BookBub is a free service that helps you discover books you’ll love through unbeatable deals, handpicked recommendations, and updates from your favorite authors.

Get your

Chick Lit Fix here:

Chick Lit Cafe writes professional captivating book reviews, runs powerful “targeted” book marketing campaigns to increases book sales, author awareness and online presence. We will launch you and your book into the spotlight.

Chicklit Club is the longest running chick lit website, with everything you want to know about women’s contemporary fiction from book reviews and release dates, to author interviews and movie adaptions.

Chick Lit Central is a place where people can discuss chick lit books, read reviews, meet authors, and win books!

Artisan Book Reviews provides book reviews and promotional services for authors.