Author Interview: Rochelle Weinstein

BookBrushImage3D-27faceforward-paperback
 
Meet Rochelle Weinstein, the USA Today bestselling author of This is Not How it Ends and get to know more about her latest book, When We Let Go – A moving novel of family and forgiveness and of hope and healing.

“Every one of Rochelle Weinstein’s novels is compulsively readable—but When We Let Go takes her enviable talent to the next level. Insightful, exacting, and brimming with empathy, this story of second chances is Weinstein at her very best.” Camille Pagán, bestselling author of Everything Must Go

Welcome, Rochelle and thank you for taking the time to share your book and sharing some of your advice and wisdom on the writing process with us today!
 
Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published book (s).

Hi! And thanks for having me here. I’m the author of six women’s fiction novels, and my latest, WHEN WE LET GO, released May 17th. This moving story of letting in and letting go follows Avery and Elle as they journey through forgiveness and acceptance, first love and second chances, all while becoming unexpected allies. A former music industry executive, I split my time between sunny South Florida and the mountains of North Carolina (where WWLG takes place). My hubby (we call him Bear) and I have been married 25 years and have twin sons who just graduated college.

Tell us about the genre you like to write, and how is it similar / different from other women fiction genres?

My women’s fiction novels are layered with emotional depth. I’m told they require tissues! Because I’m an observer of human behavior, my own and those around me, I enjoy capturing feelings and emotions and fictionalizing them in a relatable, relevant way.

What are some of the biggest challenges authors of older protagonists face today?

Hmmmm, great question. If you’re an author wishing to grow your fanbase, perhaps appealing to a broader, younger audience is tricky. I truly believe if you write a good story—no matter the age of the characters—you’ll find a way into reader’s hearts. I’m a huge reader from YA to adult fiction and believe a good read is ageless. 

Given the ongoing popularity of chick lit, where do you see light-hearted fiction for older readers ten years from now?

When you connect with readers and have a strong, meaningful brand, your readers will grow with you. Again, I stand by my belief that good writing, good stories, and feel-good content doesn’t discriminate.

When did it dawn on you that you wanted to be a writer?

I was always a private journal writer and loved crafting short stories that never saw the light of day. When I turned thirty, I wrote my first novel, and there was no turning back.

Do you have a day job other than being a writer?

CEO of The Weinstein Family, professional dog walker, Foodie in search of the world’s best nachos!

What are some things that inspire you to write?

Nature—from beautiful beaches to mountain ranges, flowers and trees, gorgeous scenery, as well as music, the people around me, the experiences I’ve lived and witnessed.

What is your typical writing routine like?

My writing has changed as my family has grown and evolved. Once it was centered around naps and carpool, but now that I’m an empty nester, I try to write every day, leaving weekends to refresh and recharge. I just finished the first draft of my seventh book, and I relied on an accountability partner which was super beneficial. Having a detailed synopsis helped. I wrote the book in five months!

What kind of message do your book (s) convey to readers?

My books offer insights of self-discovery. Letting go, letting in, hope and healing, forgiveness and acceptance of ourselves and others. Also, that love is possible when you love yourself.

Does your book (s) incorporate certain aspects of your own life (and / or that of others)?

Absolutely! We write what we know, witness, experience, etc.

Who are some of your favorite authors and why?

I gravitate toward BOOKS across multiple genres. My most recent favorite reads are The Paper Palace, The People We Keep, and Lucky. The common denominator: books that make me feel something—in the gut.

Any advice you’d like to give for aspiring writers over 40?

Don’t give up! I wrote my first book at 30 and it wasn’t published until I was 42. I was rejected across the board by agents and publishing houses, so I self-published. That book went on to hit the USA Today Bestseller list. Finally got the agent and the pub deal, but what if I had given up? There are so many paths to publishing today, and no two are alike. Know your goals, manage expectations, stop making excuses and JUST WRITE.

You can find out more about Rochelle here:

website
twitter
instagram

Kirkus Reviews
Kirkus Reviews
Read More
“(F)unny and sharp...An often entertaining story of a middle-aged protagonist who finds a new connection with her in-law and a new lease on life"
Reedsy Discovery
Reedsy Discovery
Read More
“Loved it! Carolyn Clarke weaves the plot with skill, and her characters are all convincing, with their flaws and quirks. Moreover, the wittiness of the writing enlightened the story."
My.Bookworm.Life
My.Bookworm.LifeInstagram Book Blogger
Read More
“Would recommend this book if you like family centered dramas with lots of humour.”
Marilyn Simon Rothstein
Marilyn Simon Rothstein- Author of Crazy to Leave You, Life & Separate
Read More
“And Then There’s Margaret is a lively, satirical debut by a talented writer who has given this novel her all."
ChickLit Cafe
ChickLit Cafe- Book Reviews
Read More
"In this hilarious, down-to-Earth read, debut author Carolyn Clarke has created charming and fascinating characters that could come from any home on any block..."
Sara Fraser
Sara Fraser- Award winning author, Just River
Read More
Filled with love, laughter, and misadventure, ATTM is deliciously readable with a cast of characters that are complex and funny.
Readers' Favorite
Readers' Favorite5 Star Review
Read More
It's a well-written story with crisp, clear dialog that engages you from the start and characters that you can't help but relate to.
The Book Commentary
The Book Commentary
Read More
While Clarke offers a fresh new literary voice, the writing in And Then There’s Margaret is confident and the prose is crisp.
Indie Reader
Indie Reader
Read More
Carolyn Clarke’s skillful and subtle storytelling in AND THEN THERE’S MARGARET is a playful coming-of (middle)-age novel.
Previous
Next
Coming July 2022!
For fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go Bernadette or Marian Keyes’s The Break comes And Then There’s Margaret. Take a relatable and often hilarious ride with our heroine as she realizes the only way to survive the angst of family is to let go…and let be.

 
Next Generation Indie Book AwardsChick Lit (Fiction) – Finalist
Maxy Award  Literary & Humor – Winner
BookBub  New Release for Less 06/26/22
Available for pre-order here!

Newsletter

Sign up to receive an occasional newsletter correspondence from Henlit Central. Subscriber information is never shared.

Proud Member

Hen lit books here:

Goodreads is the world’s largest community of book lovers. Find and read more books you’ll love, and keep track of the books you want to read.

BookBub is a free service that helps you discover books you’ll love through unbeatable deals, handpicked recommendations, and updates from your favorite authors.

Get your

Chick Lit Fix here:

Chick Lit Cafe writes professional captivating book reviews, runs powerful “targeted” book marketing campaigns to increases book sales, author awareness and online presence. We will launch you and your book into the spotlight.

Chicklit Club is the longest running chick lit website, with everything you want to know about women’s contemporary fiction from book reviews and release dates, to author interviews and movie adaptions.

Chick Lit Central is a place where people can discuss chick lit books, read reviews, meet authors, and win books!

Artisan Book Reviews provides book reviews and promotional services for authors.