Author Spotlight: Lisa Niver

Meet Lisa Niver, an award-winning travel expert who has explored 102 countries on six continents. This University of Pennsylvania graduate sailed across the seas for seven
years with Princess Cruises, Royal Caribbean, and Renaissance Cruises and spent three years backpacking across Asia. Discover her articles in publications from AARP: The Magazine and AAA Explorer to WIRED and Wharton Magazine, as well as her site WeSaidGoTravel, which is #10 on the top 100 Travel Blog List for 2024.

On her award-winning global podcast, Make Your Own Map, Niver has interviewed Deepak Chopra, Olympic medalists, and numerous bestselling authors, and as a journalist has been invited to both the Oscars and the United Nations. For her print and digital stories as well as her television segments, she has been awarded three Southern California Journalism Awards and three National Arts and Entertainment Journalism Awards and been a finalist twenty-five times.

Named a #3 travel influencer for 2024, Niver talks travel on broadcast television at KTLA TV Los Angeles, her YouTube channel with over 2 million views, and in her award-winning memoir, Brave-ish, One Breakup, Six Continents and Feeling Fearless After Fifty.

“In a youth-obsessed culture where ageism has been called the “last acceptable bias,” Niver confronts her fears of being alone, supporting herself through travel, and starting over again in midlife. Her story illustrates that we can blaze our own path, if we are brave enough to begin with small steps.” HOLLY CASSANDRA CORBETT Author of The Lost Girls, VP Consciously Unbiased

 

LINK for BOOK: https://lisaniver.com/braveish/
Reviews: https://lisaniver.com/brave-ish-reviews/
PRESS: https://lisaniver.com/press/

READ EXCERPT OF BRAVE-ISH HERE!

Winner:  Goody Business Book Awards: Memoir/Self-Help
Runner-up: Zibby Awards: Best Book for The Strong Woman
Semi-Finalist (Was long list, then short list, now semi-finalist, waiting to hear about finalist) for The 2023 HEARTEN Book Awards Semi-Finalist for Inspiring & Uplifting Non-Fiction

Check out Lisa’s upcoming WOMEN’S TRAVEL FEST 2024 events here.

Lisa Niver bio in Women's Travel Fest

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

Book Summary:

Although Lisa Niver has traveled in far-off locales from Vanuatu to Nepal and received numerous accolades for both her writing and her top ranked website, what people don’t realize is that this began from the wreckage of a rotten romance.

Newlywed Niver was on the adventure of a lifetime. She had quit her job, rented out her condo, and was traveling around Asia. To the outside world, Niver was a woman living out her dreams of exploring ancient ruins in Cambodia and seeing orangutans in Borneo. In private, she was keeping a dark secret. But, when she found herself lying on a sidewalk in Thailand, looking up at the sky in severe pain, she knew things had to change. At age forty-seven, Niver found the courage to set course on a new life.

Feeling like a failure, pushing fifty, and moving home to her parents’ house to start again from scratch, Niver started taking one tiny “brave-ish” step at a time to take her life far away from the old one and into the adventurous world of travel writing. These small hurdles led to the challenge of trying fifty new things before turning fifty. From diving into shipwrecks, swimming with sharks, bobsledding at 3 Gs, to indulging in wild escapades, Niver found herself traversing the world on a journey of reinvention, personal growth, and discovering what it actually means to be “brave.”

While Brave-ish chronicles Niver’s inspiring expeditions to distant corners of the world including Myanmar, Cuba, Morocco, Kenya and Mongolia this is more than a travelogue. Niver’s story is a testament to the resilience of the human spirit and the power of perseverance. Brave-ish inspires readers to dream big, take risks, and embrace the unknown to create a life filled with wonder and excitement, even when courage seems elusive.

Praise:
Featured in Conde Nast Traveler Women Who Travel Book Club: 10 New Books We Can’t Wait to Read this Fall  https://www.cntraveler.com/gallery/women-who-travel-book-club-fall-2023
 
As seen in Forbes Best New Non-Fiction 
Read here!

 

“Niver’s global travel exploits had me simultaneously chewing my fingernails and cheering her on as she challenged herself to greater and riskier feats in search of self. Compelling and engrossing. A must-read for fans of Wild and Eat, Pray, Love!” ALKA JOSHI A New York Times Best Seller, a Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick- The Henna Artist, The Secret Keeper of Jaipur and The Perfumist of Paris
 
“Lisa Niver’s Brave-ish is a page-turner and inspiration for anyone who finds themselves at rock bottom in mid-life. Through both grand adventures and small, life-savoring gestures, Niver pieces herself back together after heartbreak and hardship. Readers will have the great pleasure of traveling the world through Niver’s stories and will be cheering her on. Don’t miss this book full of heart, adventure, and, of course, courage!” CHRISTIE TATE A New York Times Best Seller, a Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick- GROUP and B.F.F.

You Should Write a Book With Camille Pagán Even Better Co
Proud Member

A Top-Rated Online Lifestyle Magazine

Your go-to resource for reliable, meaningful and inspirational information for older adults and their families. Visit 50plus Today here!

Interviews with Women’s Fiction – here


An online literary magazine by and about contemporary women writers from around the world. 

Hen lit books here:

Goodreads is the world’s largest community of book lovers. Find and read more books you’ll love, and keep track of the books you want to read.

BookBub is a free service that helps you discover books you’ll love through unbeatable deals, handpicked recommendations, and updates from your favorite authors.

“Rife with witty banter. A laugh-out-loud family dramedy that feels like a much beloved night out with friends. ChickLit Cafe 
Women’s Fiction | Comedy Drama – Amazon

Get your

Chick Lit Fix here:

Chick Lit Cafe writes professional captivating book reviews, runs powerful “targeted” book marketing campaigns to increases book sales, author awareness and online presence. We will launch you and your book into the spotlight.

Chicklit Club is the longest running chick lit website, with everything you want to know about women’s contemporary fiction from book reviews and release dates, to author interviews and movie adaptions.

Chick Lit Central is a place where people can discuss chick lit books, read reviews, meet authors, and win books!

Artisan Book Reviews provides book reviews and promotional services for authors.