Move Over Chick Lit: We Want Something Older!

Welcome to Henlit Central! I started this blog because I imagine there’s an entire genre that’s underrepresented in the literary world — and it’s us, middle-aged women (looking for mature, and unadulterated fun), who are missing out! If you’ve been to your local bookstore or hit up Amazon lately, you’ve surely been confronted with the awesome marketing machine that is chick lit. Mind you, there’s nothing wrong with chick lit or the amount of exposure it has received. They often feature strong female protagonists, although many of them are single millennials swiping left in their search for love, struggling for independence, or on a noble quest for political correctness.

But what if you’re a 40-plus woman who’s dealt with all her childhood traumas and who’s never heard of Tinder? What if you’re in the mood for a fun and light-hearted read, but just aren’t interested in the frivolous romps and adventures of a 20-something? We need something to bridge the gap. This is where hen lit comes in.

In my little corner of the Internet, I’ve decided to join the crusade for hen lit, although maybe we can come up with a better name. We definitely want strong female protagonists, but we also want to read about more than just what it’s like to live in the big city with a terrible boss and wandering lover. Instead, we want to read about issues that reflect our reality. So, meaningless jobs, failing marriages, MIA kids and aging parents. Give us anything except first jobs, first romances, and anything else we hens have already dealt with and (gladly) moved beyond.

And while many of us don’t like being referred to as ‘hens’, whatever they call us, we’re definitely the ultimate untapped market. We’re active, healthy, literate, and we’ve got money to spend. On top of this, roughly 3.5 million baby boomers are retiring each year; with Gen X not far behind. So that means we have all the time in the world to read. The problem is, there just isn’t enough available for those of us who want something more relevant, but not too heavy. What chick lit authors and publishers must recognize is that their audience is aging.

The good news is we seem to be heading in that direction. Hollywood, at least, seems to be getting it. There’s an increasing number of movies and series featuring mature stars and related topics. Just think about shows like Grace and Frankie and movies like Book Club or Gloria Bell. Let’s face it — these days, older is in. Publishers just need to get on the bandwagon, too!

Coming July 2022!

For fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go Bernadette or Marian Keyes’s The Break comes And Then There’s Margaret. Take a relatable and often hilarious ride with our heroine as she realizes the only way to survive the angst of family is to let go…and let be.

Next Generation Indie Book AwardsChick Lit (Fiction) – Finalist
Maxy Award  Literary & Humor Winner
BookBub  New Release for Less 06/26/22
“Over the course of this novel, Clarke offers a tale that’s often funny and sharp.”Kirkus Reviews
“Carolyn Clarke weaves the plot with skill, and her characters are all convincing, with their flaws and quirks. Moreover, the wittiness of the writing enlightened the story. Here, day-to-day life is never boring.”Reedsy Discovery
“Would recommend this book if you like family centered dramas with lots of humour.” My.Bookworm.Life – Instagram book blogger
 
Available for pre-order here!

Newsletter

Sign up to receive an occasional newsletter correspondence from Henlit Central. Subscriber information is never shared.

Proud Member

Hen lit books here:

Goodreads is the world’s largest community of book lovers. Find and read more books you’ll love, and keep track of the books you want to read.

BookBub is a free service that helps you discover books you’ll love through unbeatable deals, handpicked recommendations, and updates from your favorite authors.

Get your

Chick Lit Fix here:

Chick Lit Cafe writes professional captivating book reviews, runs powerful “targeted” book marketing campaigns to increases book sales, author awareness and online presence. We will launch you and your book into the spotlight.

Chicklit Club is the longest running chick lit website, with everything you want to know about women’s contemporary fiction from book reviews and release dates, to author interviews and movie adaptions.

Chick Lit Central is a place where people can discuss chick lit books, read reviews, meet authors, and win books!

Artisan Book Reviews provides book reviews and promotional services for authors.