Q & A with Carolyn Clarke

Well, this is an honor! So happy to share with you Hannah Hargrave’s (my amazing publicist) interview with me.

 

How did you get your ideas for the plot and characters in And Then There’s Margaret?

Margaret, the antagonist force against her daughter-in-law, Allison, was created from a conversation I had with friends. At a book club actually, a group of them were sharing mother-in-law confessions, sins, and stories. I enjoyed listening to the ups and downs of this incredibly complex and challenging relationship because interestingly enough, I never got the chance to meet my mother-in-law. She passed many years ago, but I know, based on what I’ve learned about her, that we would’ve been good friends. 

As the stories got funnier, I thought of what a great character “Margaret” would make since this force seems to be a universal one. When it came to the creation of Allison (Allie), she’s pretty much five of my closest friends rolled up into one relatable heroine that’s flawed and familiar.

The idea of the plot was easy – a ‘man against man’ dramedy and domesticating it into a tale about navigating middle-age, a twenty-two-year marriage and a bossy, self-absorbed and exceptionally stubborn mother-in-law. 

You’ve previously written non-fiction resources for Cambridge University Press, MacMillan Education. What was the greatest writing challenge that And Then There’s Margaret presented? 

Switching from writing non-fiction resources for teachers to creative and lively storytelling writing was the biggest challenge. Then came the challenge of writing natural and effective dialogue. And of course making sure each of the characters, especially Allie and Margaret, had a particular speech pattern which would reflect their own unique and sometimes quirky personalities. However, one of the easiest things for me was not having too many writing rules like you do have in non-fiction. In fiction writing, you can let the story and characters evolve, taking you along for the ride. 

How would you describe your writing style? 

I would describe it as light-hearted with a touch of wittiness. And because I prefer books with a lot of dialogue and written in first person, I want to write what I’d want to read. I enjoy being part of the main character’s inner thoughts. In life, I’m a natural observer so most of what I am thinking doesn’t come out. Thank Goodness!

For And Then There’s Margaret, I wanted readers to join Allie in the rollercoaster ride of dealing with the challenges of a twenty-two-year-old marriage, her burgeoning midlife crisis, and her grieving mother-in-law, Margaret, moving in. Like the increasing number of light-hearted dramas that feature older & wiser, but still fun & cheeky protagonists, I also wanted the voice for And Then There’s Margaret to be relatable, genuine and accessible to readers.

How long did it take you to write And Then There’s Margaret?   

It was a long road. With working full time and with all the other things in between, it took six years from start to finish (with tons of editing) and then another year of being in the query trenches.  

Soon after my book found a home with a small U.S. publisher, I found myself on another road – there’s lots to do in terms of marketing and promotion before a book’s release date. And after that, who knows.

Do you have a writing ritual?

I don’t usually find myself sneaking off to write, but rather if I have a deadline or some kind of accountability with a writing partner or editor, I’ll get into project mode. My creative muse mostly visits me in the evening, so if I am writing, I tend to get more done after dinner dishes are put away right up to bedtime (midnight). 

Where is the best place to write?

At a desk with full lumbar support, soothing zen music and a calming vanilla candle. And once I get comfortable and zoned in, I can usually go for hours. 

What is your favorite scene in And Then There’s Margaret and why?

One of my favorite scenes is in the chapter A Cold Day in July. Allie’s having a conversation with George in her kitchen. It was a tender moment when George reveals to Allie that he’s sick. It was a tough scene to write as I wanted readers to get to know George and just how much of a rock he was for Allie and at the same time adding in a touch of humor to their serious conversation that involved devastating news. An important premise of the story was Allie coping with Margaret without having George in her life anymore. He was a much needed buffer between the two.

Who would play the main characters in a film adaptation of your book?

At one time, I had Kathryn Hahn in mind to play Allie. Then it was Toni Collette on my script board. Both of these incredibly talented actors I think could pull off the snark and wit, yet become a sympathetic character for readers to want to wrap their arms around her.

What are you currently reading?

I just finished Rochelle Weinstein’s new book, When We Let Go. Besides my “go to” books about family drama that have a “beach” read feel, I’ve got four on my list this summer I hope to read while “hammocking in” or “escaping to” the cottage country. I know I’m a bit late to the party, but I’d like to “read” some of the movies/series I’ve enjoyed on screen featuring older protagonists struggling with real life challenges such as The French Exit and Still Alice.

What is the book you wish you’d written?

Olive Kitteridge! I LOVED this limited series that followed the stern and undeniably depressed yet witty character, Olive Kittridge, a retired schoolteacher who loathes life it seems and the changes going on around her, including the people in her town.

This HBO miniseries starring Frances McDormand and Richard Jenkins is a must see if you like family dramas that focus on the human condition. Told beautifully, I can’t wait to read Elizabeth Strout’s follow up book, Again, Olive that came out in 2019.

If you weren’t writing, what would you be doing?

Besides gardening and binge watching good series, I’d definitely need to feed my creative side so I might be back to sketching and house renderings – I love perspective drawing – that’s the urban planner in me (my first career). It’s a solitude activity that feels like a form of meditation and that can give me a sense of control – and once done, I like to step back and take in the finished or evolving work.

Thank you, Hannah! I actually enjoyed being in the driver’s seat!
Kirkus Reviews
Kirkus Reviews
Read More
“(F)unny and sharp...An often entertaining story of a middle-aged protagonist who finds a new connection with her in-law and a new lease on life"
Reedsy Discovery
Reedsy Discovery
Read More
“Loved it! Carolyn Clarke weaves the plot with skill, and her characters are all convincing, with their flaws and quirks. Moreover, the wittiness of the writing enlightened the story."
My.Bookworm.Life
My.Bookworm.LifeInstagram Book Blogger
Read More
“Would recommend this book if you like family centered dramas with lots of humour.”
Marilyn Simon Rothstein
Marilyn Simon Rothstein- Author of Crazy to Leave You, Life & Separate
Read More
“And Then There’s Margaret is a lively, satirical debut by a talented writer who has given this novel her all."
ChickLit Cafe
ChickLit Cafe- Book Reviews
Read More
"In this hilarious, down-to-Earth read, debut author Carolyn Clarke has created charming & fascinating characters that could come from any home on any block..."
Sara Fraser
Sara Fraser- Award winning author, Just River
Read More
Filled with love, laughter, and misadventure, ATTM is deliciously readable with a cast of characters that are complex and funny.
Readers' Favorite
Readers' Favorite5 Star Review
Read More
It's a well-written story with crisp, clear dialog that engages you from the start and characters that you can't help but relate to.
The Book Commentary
The Book Commentary
Read More
While Clarke offers a fresh new literary voice, the writing in And Then There’s Margaret is confident and the prose is crisp.
Indie Reader
Indie Reader
Read More
Carolyn Clarke’s skillful and subtle storytelling in AND THEN THERE’S MARGARET is a playful coming-of (middle)-age novel.
Melodie Campbell, Award-winning author of The Goddaughter series
Melodie Campbell, Award-winning author of The Goddaughter series
Read More
And Then There's Margaret... is a wonderful, fun confection of a tale, written with verve and humour.
Readers' Choice Book Awards
Readers' Choice Book Awards
Read More
"This is an entertaining, witty, and sharp read, with relatable characters that many readers will connect with. The book was a joy to read..."
Previous
Next
For fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go Bernadette or Marian Keyes’s The Break comes And Then There’s Margaret. Take a relatable and often hilarious ride with our heroine as she realizes the only way to survive the angst of family is to let go…and let be.
Next Generation Indie Book Awards – Chick Lit (Fiction) – Finalist
Maxy Award – Literary & Humor – Winner
ChickLit Cafe – CLC’s Book Excellence Award contest – Winner
Readers’ Choice Book Awards  – Best Book for Adults – Finalist
BookBub  New Release for Less 06/26/22

Looking for Your Next Book Club Pick? Get Your Free Warm Questions and Discussion Starters here!

Newsletter

Sign up to receive an occasional newsletter correspondence from Henlit Central. Subscriber information is never shared.

Proud Member

Hen lit books here:

Goodreads is the world’s largest community of book lovers. Find and read more books you’ll love, and keep track of the books you want to read.

BookBub is a free service that helps you discover books you’ll love through unbeatable deals, handpicked recommendations, and updates from your favorite authors.

Get your

Chick Lit Fix here:

Chick Lit Cafe writes professional captivating book reviews, runs powerful “targeted” book marketing campaigns to increases book sales, author awareness and online presence. We will launch you and your book into the spotlight.

Chicklit Club is the longest running chick lit website, with everything you want to know about women’s contemporary fiction from book reviews and release dates, to author interviews and movie adaptions.

Chick Lit Central is a place where people can discuss chick lit books, read reviews, meet authors, and win books!

Artisan Book Reviews provides book reviews and promotional services for authors.