Who the Heck is Allie?

Every story needs a great protagonist. Someone who’s relatable and who keeps readers invested. It also needs a great contender. A force, whether natural, supernatural or human. In AND THEN THERE’S MARGARET, it’s Margaret. She’s the force that creates much of the conflict and chaos for our protagonist, Allison Montgomery (Allie).

I wanted to write this story in first person, so that readers could join Allie in the rollercoaster ride of dealing with the challenges of a twenty-year-old marriage, her burgeoning midlife crisis, and her grieving mother-in-law, Margaret, moving in. Like the increasing number of light-hearted dramas that feature older & wiser, but still fun & cheeky protagonists, I also wanted the voice for AND THEN THERE’S MARGARET to be relatable, genuine and accessible readers.

Once I was clear on the voice, I had to get to know Allie. Who is she? What makes her tick? What rattles her? Overwhelmed by all the possibilities, I created a character sketch of Allie that included a rough outline of her physical description, as well as a whole list of positive and negative personality and emotional traits, too. Did it help? Yes, but honestly, I didn’t always stick to the outline. With some additional research, some observations (aka, people watching) and, of course, some musings, I let her evolve from the first chapter onward.

I wanted Allie to be relatable and flawed. She’s human, with all the anxieties, quirks and ambitions that go with this crazy, bewildering, and even strangely exciting stage of life. I know this is what connects me, and I’m sure many others, to any character, whether from a book, movie, or series. If I’m not invested in the characters and able to escape with them into their world, then I’m quick to tune out and move on.

Interestingly enough, I received some criticism from my beta readers, about Allie’s character, after I gave them the first draft of the novel. They felt that Allie was a bit too snarky and unsympathetic. As trusted friends, colleagues and like-minded members of the “hen-lit demo”, I embraced their feedback. I didn’t hesitate one bit and went back to the drawing board to make Allie a little softer around the edges. I tried to project more of the internal struggles she was having with her marriage and midlife, and the external ones she was having with her prickly, turbulent relationship with Margaret.

Although AND THEN THERE’S MARGARET really lives in the present, I still had to create a back-story for Allie, including thinking about an “Allie” before marriage and an “Allie” in the honeymoon phase. Before marriage and honeymoon phase Allie didn’t want a “grown up” job or kids that would tie her down. But life happened and both of those things came along, which led to a version of “Allie” where she had to adjust to a new reality. This was one with Margaret stepping in and providing a much-needed extra set of hands but also using that to get her claws in for good.

It was fun seeing Allie evolve, especially those times when anxiety and stress got the best of her. I really enjoyed the process of going back in, several times actually, to rewrite her character based on the actions of others. And it wasn’t just Margaret that “triggered” her. Her husband Hank and her two children, Samantha and Cameron, are all a part of the trials and tribulations that make up Allie’s day-to-day life.

Did I have a clear vision of what Allie exactly looked like physically? Yes and no. It actually changed several times. At one time, I had Kathryn Hahn in mind. Then it was Toni Collette on my script board. I guess I did have clarity on the color of her hair. When Allie gets a new hairstyle and after spending twenty minutes trying to style it like they did in the salon, her inner voice says I look like a blond version of Peter Pan.

I hope that readers will sympathize with, and support Allie as she struggles to adapt to the changes going on around her. I hope they’ll also cheer her on as she tries to find happiness and fulfillment – which isn’t always easy, especially with Margaret’s on-going, shall we say, guidance and support…

To join Allie on a relatable and often hilarious ride, order your copy today!

Book available at: Black Rose WritingAmazon (US/CD/UK), Barnes & NobleBook DepositoryGoodreads

*If you preorder your book now at Black Rose Writing, use the promo code: PREORDER2022 to receive a 15% discount.

Kirkus Reviews
Kirkus Reviews
Read More
“(F)unny and sharp...An often entertaining story of a middle-aged protagonist who finds a new connection with her in-law and a new lease on life"
Reedsy Discovery
Reedsy Discovery
Read More
“Loved it! Carolyn Clarke weaves the plot with skill, and her characters are all convincing, with their flaws and quirks. Moreover, the wittiness of the writing enlightened the story."
My.Bookworm.Life
My.Bookworm.LifeInstagram Book Blogger
Read More
“Would recommend this book if you like family centered dramas with lots of humour.”
Marilyn Simon Rothstein
Marilyn Simon Rothstein- Author of Crazy to Leave You, Life & Separate
Read More
“And Then There’s Margaret is a lively, satirical debut by a talented writer who has given this novel her all."
ChickLit Cafe
ChickLit Cafe- Book Reviews
Read More
"In this hilarious, down-to-Earth read, debut author Carolyn Clarke has created charming and fascinating characters that could come from any home on any block..."
Sara Fraser
Sara Fraser- Award winning author, Just River
Read More
Filled with love, laughter, and misadventure, ATTM is deliciously readable with a cast of characters that are complex and funny.
Readers' Favorite
Readers' Favorite5 Star Review
Read More
It's a well-written story with crisp, clear dialog that engages you from the start and characters that you can't help but relate to.
The Book Commentary
The Book Commentary
Read More
While Clarke offers a fresh new literary voice, the writing in And Then There’s Margaret is confident and the prose is crisp.
Indie Reader
Indie Reader
Read More
Carolyn Clarke’s skillful and subtle storytelling in AND THEN THERE’S MARGARET is a playful coming-of (middle)-age novel.
Previous
Next
Coming July 2022!
For fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go Bernadette or Marian Keyes’s The Break comes And Then There’s Margaret. Take a relatable and often hilarious ride with our heroine as she realizes the only way to survive the angst of family is to let go…and let be.

 
Next Generation Indie Book AwardsChick Lit (Fiction) – Finalist
Maxy Award  Literary & Humor – Winner
BookBub  New Release for Less 06/26/22
Available for pre-order here!

Newsletter

Sign up to receive an occasional newsletter correspondence from Henlit Central. Subscriber information is never shared.

Proud Member

Hen lit books here:

Goodreads is the world’s largest community of book lovers. Find and read more books you’ll love, and keep track of the books you want to read.

BookBub is a free service that helps you discover books you’ll love through unbeatable deals, handpicked recommendations, and updates from your favorite authors.

Get your

Chick Lit Fix here:

Chick Lit Cafe writes professional captivating book reviews, runs powerful “targeted” book marketing campaigns to increases book sales, author awareness and online presence. We will launch you and your book into the spotlight.

Chicklit Club is the longest running chick lit website, with everything you want to know about women’s contemporary fiction from book reviews and release dates, to author interviews and movie adaptions.

Chick Lit Central is a place where people can discuss chick lit books, read reviews, meet authors, and win books!

Artisan Book Reviews provides book reviews and promotional services for authors.